Chemistry competition

Every year the Lorentz Center invites applications by tenure track researchers and post docs for the Lorentz Center Chemistry workshop competition. The winning workshop is be supported by and organized at the Lorentz Center, Leiden, the Netherlands.

The winning proposal is on a cutting-edge topic from any area of chemistry research. The topic can be mono- or multidisciplinary and we encourage topics that bring together researchers from the academic community and the public/private sector.


What we seek

  • the main applicant is from academia, pursuing her/his postdoc or tenure track in the Netherlands
  • an innovative scientific program, that takes us beyond current boundaries
  • an open and interactive format, with few lectures
  • at least one scientific organizer based outside the Netherlands 

What we offer

  • a 5-day workshop at the Lorentz Center
  • workshop budget for e.g. travel and accommodation reimbursements up to 15 k€
  • no registration fees or other organizational costs
  • a professional support organization, under the philosophy ‘you do the research, we do the rest’


    Please find answers to several FAQ's here.

    Or contact:
    Shirin Faraji, chair Chemistry Board Lorentz Center,
    Anna Tudos, manager Lorentz Center,



    Chemistry competition winners


    2023 Winner


    Thinking out of the ring. Present and future of small cyclic compounds

    Irene Regeni, Leiden University
    Ricardo I. Rodríguez, University of Padova
    Olga García Mancheño, Münster University
    Kevin Brown, University of Indiana
    Florent Beaufils, SpiroChem


    2023 Runner-up 

    Neutral and Ion Photochemistry in Planetary Atmospheres

    Robin Baeyens, University of Amsterdam 

    Annemieke Petrignani, University of Amsterdam

    Jonathan Tennyson, University College London

    Antonio García Muñoz, Université Paris-Saclay



    Photocatalysis – challenges and future perspectives

    Sonja Pullen, University of Amsterdam
    Line Næsborg, WWU Münster
    Sebastian Beil, Stratingh Institute for Chemistry



    Artificial Intelligence for Natural Product Drug Discovery

    Marnix Medema, Bioinformatics Group

    Gerard van Westen, Leiden Academic Centre for Drug Research

    Anna Hirsch, Department for drug design and optimization

    Serina Robinson, Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag)   

    Roger Linington, Department of Chemistry 



    Bio•Inorganic Chemistry

    Johannes Klein, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen

    Vera Krewald, TU Darmstadt

    Daniël Broere, Utrecht University



    Follow us on:

    Niels Bohrweg 1 & 2

    2333 CA Leiden

    The Netherlands

    +31 71 527 5400