Award ceremony Lorentz Medal & Symposium

On November 10th the Lorentz Medal will be presented to physicist Daan Frenkel. The presentation is part of a symposium on Frenkel’s field. There will be a closing discussion including the Dutch Minister of Education, Culture and Science, Robbert Dijkgraaf.

The Lorentz Medal is awarded every four years to a researcher who has made a major contribution to the development of theoretical physics.


The award ceremony of the Lorentz Medal 2022 is being organized by KNAW in collaboration with the Lorentz Center, which celebrates its 25th anniversary, as part of European City of Science Leiden2022.


About the laureate

Daan Frenkel is emeritus professor at the University of Cambridge. As one of the driving forces behind a “silent revolution”, Prof. Frenkel pioneered the use of creative computer simulations to mimic chemical and physical processes. His research underpins a large number of theoretical and experimental studies on the behavior of suspensions: liquids containing insoluble spherical, rod and plate-shaped particles.



Symposium: 13:30 - 15:00 

  • Marjolein Dijkstra, Professor of Computational Soft Matter, Utrecht University - From a computer game for understanding liquids towards autonomous design of soft materials
  • Anđela Šarić, Assistant Professor of Computational Biological and Soft Matter Physics, Institute of Science and Technology Austria - From non-living to living with beads and springs
  • Ali Alavi, Director, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, and professor of Theoretical Chemistry, University of Cambridge - Monte Carlo sampling in systems with Fermion sign problems
  • Angelos Michaelides, Professor of Chemistry, University of Cambridge - Interfacial and confined water: Where hard and soft matter meet
  • Bingqing Cheng, Assistant Professor of Computational Materials, Institute of Science and Technology Austria - ab initio thermodynamics
  • Wim van Saarloos, Emeritus Professor of Theoretical Physics, Lorentz Institute, Leiden University - Beyond Daan’s simulations

The main language for the symposium will be English.


Award ceremony: 15:30 - 17:00

  • Presentation of the Lorentz Medal to Daan Frenkel by Marileen Dogterom, President of the Academy, and Detlef Lohse, Professor of the Physics of Fluids, University of Twente, and chairman of the Lorentz Medal jury.

  • Discussion between Minister Robbert Dijkgraaf, Hester Bijl, Rector Magnificus of Universiteit Leiden, and Daan Frenkel.

 The main language for the award ceremony will be Dutch.


You can sign up for the symposium and award ceremony here.

Follow us on:

Niels Bohrweg 1 & 2

2333 CA Leiden

The Netherlands

+31 71 527 5400