The Lorentz Center program in Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) is part of the NIAS-Lorentz collaboration and is overseen by the NIAS-Lorentz Advisory Board. 

This board is responsible for the evaluation of all workshop proposals in the entire domain of social sciences and humanities, by which we understand mono-or interdisciplinary workshops in disciplines from the social sciences, humanities or any other field of research outside the natural/exact/technical sciences.

The board members act as ambassadors to increase the visibility of the SSH workshop program.


This board also supervises the activities of the NIAS-Lorentz Program which focuses on initiatives that bring together the humanities and/or social sciences on the one hand and the natural and/or technological sciences on the other.



Carel Stolker - Leiden University




Erik Bähre - Leiden University

Stefan Bogaerts - Tilburg University

Karwan Fatah-Black - Leiden University

Davide Grossi - University of Groningen, University of Amsterdam 

Larissa van den Herik - Leiden University

Barbora Hola - VU University of Amsterdam

Cynthia Liem - Delft University of Technology

Fred A. Muller - Erasmus University Rotterdam and Utrecht University

Erik Rietveld - University of Amsterdam UMC & University of Twente

Leonard Rutgers - University of Utrecht

Sonja Smets - University of Amsterdam

Linnet Taylor - Tilburg University

Franjo Weissing - University of Groningen


>> Former board members

Follow us on:

Niels Bohrweg 1 & 2

2333 CA Leiden

The Netherlands

+31 71 527 5400