Mathematics of Information-Theoretic Cryptography

13 - 17 May 2013

Venue: Lorentz Center@Snellius

If you are invited or already registered for this workshop, you have received login details by email.

Description and Aim of the workshop:

Recently, there has been a surge in interactions between information-theoretic cryptography and several areas in mathematics – algebraic geometry, algebraic number theory, coding theory, combinatorics, probability theory.

The goal of this workshop is to foster and strengthen research on the intersection between cryptography, theory of computation and pure mathematics and to present and hopefully advance the state of knowledge on several open questions of distinctly cross-disciplinary nature, where the central focus is on problems arising in information-theoretic cryptography.

Talks will belong to themes such as:

-Special Codes in Secure Computation.

-Algebra and Number Theory in Cryptography, Coding and Combinatorics.

-Towers of Algebraic Function Fields.

-Combinatorics in Cryptography.

-Interactions between Theory of Computation and Cryptography.

In addition, there will be special sessions (open problems, rump session) and ample time for individual discussions.

Confirmed Participants:

Jens-Dietrich Bauch, UAB, Barcelona, Spain

Alp Bassa, Sabanci University, Turkey

Amos Beimel, Ben Gurion University, Israel

Ignacio Cascudo, CWI

Ronald Cramer, CWI & Universiteit Leiden

Robbert de Haan, CWI

Yvo Desmedt, University of Texas at Dallas, USA

Yevgeniy Dodis, New York University, USA

Iwan Duursma, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA

Oriol Farrás, URV Tarragona, Spain

Serge Fehr, CWI

Marc Fischlin, TU Darmstadt, Germany

Juan Garay, AT&T Research, New York, USA

Olav Geil, Aalborg University, Denmark

Parakshit Gopalan, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA

Yuval Ishai, Technion, Israel

Dimitar Jetchev, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland

Lingfei Jin, Nanyang Technological Univ., Singapore

Tarik Kaced, Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong, China

Eyal Kushilevitz, Technion, Israel

Hendrik Lenstra, Universiteit Leiden

Liming Ma, Nanyang Technological Univ., Singapore

František Matúš, UTIA Prague, Czech Republic

Alexander May, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany

Diego Mirandola, CWI

Jörn Müller-Quade, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Harald Niederreiter, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria

Jesper Buus Nielsen, Aarhus University. Denmark

Carles Padró, Nanyang Technological Univ., Singapore

Ruud Pellikaan, TU Eindhoven

Manoj Prabhakaran, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA

Tal Rabin, IBM Research, USA

Renato Renner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Berry Schoenmakers, TU Eindhoven

Henning Stichtenoth, Sabanci University, Turkey

Madhu Sudan, Microsoft Research New England,USA

Chaoping Xing, Nanyang Technological Univ., Singapore

Gilles Zémor, University of Bordeaux, France


Follow us on:

Niels Bohrweg 1 & 2

2333 CA Leiden

The Netherlands

+31 71 527 5400